BORN RISKY: BMX

This week we caught up with the awesome and crazy talented

MARK MULVILLE

“Nothing in life is meant to be easy. If you want something enough, work for it. Eventually it’ll pay off.”

BMX-Bornrisky.png

Spending more time in the air than touching the ground, this guy stretches the limits to a comfort zone and thrives on adrenalin, riding to gain as much height as possible. Twisting the bike in all angles, performing insane tricks mid-air with the ground awaiting impact, there is no surface out of bounds for Mark to ride. Setting individual challenges day to day he will find a way to trick and grind anything and everything.

Having started as a kid riding around for fun, over the years Mark found a love for experimenting with stunts and different grounds. It quickly became clear his future was in BMX riding. Making waves across the globe placing in big competitions and collecting an endless list of wins, Mark has achieved great things and is a familiar face online. With a huge following and online presence it’s no wonder he has such impressive sponsors: Profile Racing, Vans, Sunbum, Dang Shades and Deluxe BMX.

Oviedo-Mulville-Boost

Name: Mark Mulville
Age: 31
Nationality: American
Location: Cocoa Beach , Florida. USA
We’re a big fan of your work and it’s clear you’ve achieved a lot, how did you get started?’
‘Like most little kids, I just rode my bike a ton. Then I started jumping off curbs and ledges, and launching anything in sight, just for some extra excitement on the bike while I rode it to friends houses and such. After a while, I realized that riding my bike wasn’t just to get around on anymore. It was becoming my life. I have never really looked at my riding Bmx as practicing.. I have just done it purely for the fun!
I have never had a coach. Just grew up with idols that I tried to emulate, and pushed myself.’
Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 13.04.39
‘How many races/competitions have you competed in? ‘
‘I have competed in way too many to count, that’s for sure.. I had a lot of wins as a kid back in the late 90’s and 2000’s. Since then, I have had a good bit of top 5 placings in big contests, and a few first and second place finishes.’
‘Does your BMX success mean you travel a lot and where?’
‘Yes, It has taken me to many countries and almost every USA state.
 It’s been quite the adventure, and it’s not done yet.’

‘What kind of ground do you prefer working on, dirt track or skate ramps etc?’
‘When it comes to Bmx, I pretty much ride it all. I don’t like to limit myself, or stick to just one discipline of Bmx. But if I had to pick a favorite, It would be Dirt jumps.’
‘What’s your favourite memory you have with BMX?’
‘That is a tough one to answer… I have so many, from: All the friends I have met, the places I have traveled to, the crazy situations I have been in. Bmx in general is my favorite memory.’
‘For people wanting to try out BMXing who are maybe nervous or are looking to get started what advice would you give them?’
‘Take it very slow! Don’t overdo yourself right away. That is an easy way to end up hurt.. also, don’t do it just to be sponsored or to make money. Just ride your bike, and if you love it enough, good things will come.’
‘Representing our theme ‘Born Risky’, what is it you like about our brand?’
‘It’s simple and clean, in the best way possible. You have lots of nice goodies, but my favorite is that barrel bag.’

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 14.37.59

Good luck to Mark in his next competitions, we’ll keep you updated on his news.
Follow him online:
INSTAGRAM
Here are some shots of the man himself in action

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photo Credits: @rileysjordan, @chaddegroot, @brianyeagle, @theweavbmx,

@treyjonesucks, @shawnride666, @tomjbmx, @mattcoplan, @astaticparadise

SHOP OUR RANGE ON ASOS

AUTHOR: FELICITY PEARSON

Leave a comment